Tracker Pixel for Entry

​Amy Thielen cookbook launch party

by Särah Nour | .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | Writer's Block | May 10th, 2017

Three years ago, Minnesota author and former Food Network chef Amy Thielen held a launch party for her cookbook, ‘The New Midwestern Table: 200 Heartland Recipes,’ at Fargo’s Zandbroz Variety. This book was illustrated by North Dakota artist Amber Fletschock and earned the praise of celebrity chefs Andrew Zimmern and Lidia Bastianich.

Next Thursday, Zandbroz will once again host Thielen for a launch party for her new memoir, Give a Girl a Knife, which chronicles her journey from rural Minnesota to the elite culinary world of New York, where she worked with famed chefs David Bouley, Daniel Boulud, and Jean-Georges Vongerichten.

Back in 2008, Thielen moved back to Park Rapids, Minnesota, where she now lives with her family and works as a contributing editor for Saveur magazine and a public speaker for radio and television. As part of her research for The New Midwestern Table, she visited home cooks, restaurants, and food producers all around the Midwest, gaining knowledge of its food history as well as relatively new regional recipes.

Her Food Network show, Heartland Table, aired from September 2013 to April 2014. One episode took place in Fargo and honored its diverse population. Thielen made pönnukökur (Icelandic pancakes) to celebrate the town’s first generation of immigrants, and later served spit-cooked lamb shoulder with African and South Asian spices.

Give a Girl a Knife explores how food brings people together, its role in family and regional history, and how it binds memories to time and place; hence why Thielen left fame and fine dining behind for foods that taste like home, like smoked sausage and homemade jelly.

The newspaper AM New York published a review saying, “Fans of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gabrielle Hamilton's Blood, Bones and Butter will enjoy this chef's memoir of learning to cook in Minnesota and dicing and deep-frying her way through the kitchens of some of New York's most esteemed chefs.”

Vivian Howard, author of Deep Run Roots, has said, “I've read my fair share of chef memoirs… Amy's story is different. It's about more than her wacky path through some of New York's best kitchens; it's about Amy's innate need to cook… Writers write. Chefs cook. Amy is the rare example of someone who does both like a boss!”

Back in January, Entertainment Weekly provided a sneak peek at Thielen’s memoir, with an excerpt of its prologue. The excerpt is still available on their website at ew.com.

‘Give a Girl a Knife’ is available both in print and as an ebook. Copies can be found at Zandbroz.

IF YOU GO

‘Give a Girl a Knife’ launch party

Thursday, May 25, 6:30pm

Zandbroz Variety, 420 Broadway N, Fargo

701-239-4729

Recently in:

News

​Best of the Best 2018

by Sabrina Hornung

Last Sunday we celebrated our annual Best Bets award ceremony at the Plains Art Museum and we had a packed house. With awards from over 50 categories, members of our community gathered, rallied and supported each other in our…

Professionally people know me as a trans activist, educator, or community organizer. This is often the topic of my Trans Corner column. What they may not know is I’m an incredible geek who spends her time unwinding playing video…

Thursday, May 31, 5-9 p.m.11 8th St S, FargoNine regional artists join forces in Fargo’s newest artist collective gallery. Along with the core group of artists, art enthusiasts can anticipate guest artists and great opportunities…

“If I look like a kid on Christmas morning, it’s because that’s the way I feel right now. How I wish my parents could have heard the words you said about me,” Luci Baines Johnson said. She was preparing her commencement…

Gadfly

Armageddon and Rage

by Ed Raymond

Is Our Democracy Dying From A Koch Assisted-Suicide?The One Percent is going after wealth like Captain Ahab went after The Great White Whale. Rupert Murdoch’s Wall Street Journal recently wrote about “the up-market way to…

FARGO - A collection of memories from High Plains Reader's annual Cocktail Showdown. Participants were judged on creativity, flavor, and presentation; and this year we added a new category. Like years before, each establishment was…

The organization Nature of the North is storming Fargo with their mission to get everyone out and in nature one way or another. This week’s attempt is a workshop featuring Cyrus Bickell of Disgruntled Brewing in Perham, MN. A man…

Nikki Lane is a trailblazer. Her unique voice could be described as a cross between Wanda Jackson’s grit and Neko Case’s hauntingly smoky vocals. It’s classic and it’s fresh. In 2017 she won an Ameripolitan award in the…

Writer-director Alexandra Dean’s “Bombshell” recounts the remarkable life and achievements of Hedy Lamarr, the Golden Age screen goddess whose physical beauty and career as a Hollywood actor long overshadowed her…

Arts

​Civility is for the Birds

by HPR Contributor

By Tayler Klimektklimek@cord.eduTucked in the back of Roberts Street Studio, if you follow the “yellow brick road” (a funny story, if you get the chance to ask her), you are likely to find local artist Mackenzie Kouba working…

Theater B is giving away seven tickets to go see “The Moors” by Jen Silverman, from April 26 until May 12. Described as part Brontë, part Twilight Zone, “The Moors” is a dark comedy set on a bleak and unforgiving…

Fargo has its share of people who are passionate about stand-up comedy, even if the success of clubs devoted to it has been mixed. Despite the fact we have seen places like Courtney’s Comedy Club and Level 2 Comedy Club close…

I consider myself an avid wine drinker, but I recently found out there are more than 10,000 varieties of grapes, and about 1,500 of those are used to make commercial wines. I don’t know about you, but I could probably name about…

Best Local CelebrityCarson WentzBest Stylist / BarberJed Felix, Everett’s BarbershopBest Salon / Barber ShopEverett’s BarbershopBest Tattoo Parlor46 & 2 TattooBest Tattoo ArtistMeg Felix, No Coast TattooBest Gift ShopZandbroz…

By Melissa Martinmelissamartincounselor@live.comAnd they lived “happily ever after.” Many people in the U.S. believe in love and matrimony, but marriage takes consistent effort and time to weather the ups and downs.According to…

By Ken Smithkelandsmith@gmail.comWhen the State of North Dakota decided to sell the campus of the Ellendale Branch of the University of North Dakota following the disastrous January 1970 fire that destroyed the two main buildings,…