Tracker Pixel for Entry

​Amy Thielen cookbook launch party

by Särah Nour | .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | Writer's Block | May 10th, 2017

Three years ago, Minnesota author and former Food Network chef Amy Thielen held a launch party for her cookbook, ‘The New Midwestern Table: 200 Heartland Recipes,’ at Fargo’s Zandbroz Variety. This book was illustrated by North Dakota artist Amber Fletschock and earned the praise of celebrity chefs Andrew Zimmern and Lidia Bastianich.

Next Thursday, Zandbroz will once again host Thielen for a launch party for her new memoir, Give a Girl a Knife, which chronicles her journey from rural Minnesota to the elite culinary world of New York, where she worked with famed chefs David Bouley, Daniel Boulud, and Jean-Georges Vongerichten.

Back in 2008, Thielen moved back to Park Rapids, Minnesota, where she now lives with her family and works as a contributing editor for Saveur magazine and a public speaker for radio and television. As part of her research for The New Midwestern Table, she visited home cooks, restaurants, and food producers all around the Midwest, gaining knowledge of its food history as well as relatively new regional recipes.

Her Food Network show, Heartland Table, aired from September 2013 to April 2014. One episode took place in Fargo and honored its diverse population. Thielen made pönnukökur (Icelandic pancakes) to celebrate the town’s first generation of immigrants, and later served spit-cooked lamb shoulder with African and South Asian spices.

Give a Girl a Knife explores how food brings people together, its role in family and regional history, and how it binds memories to time and place; hence why Thielen left fame and fine dining behind for foods that taste like home, like smoked sausage and homemade jelly.

The newspaper AM New York published a review saying, “Fans of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gabrielle Hamilton's Blood, Bones and Butter will enjoy this chef's memoir of learning to cook in Minnesota and dicing and deep-frying her way through the kitchens of some of New York's most esteemed chefs.”

Vivian Howard, author of Deep Run Roots, has said, “I've read my fair share of chef memoirs… Amy's story is different. It's about more than her wacky path through some of New York's best kitchens; it's about Amy's innate need to cook… Writers write. Chefs cook. Amy is the rare example of someone who does both like a boss!”

Back in January, Entertainment Weekly provided a sneak peek at Thielen’s memoir, with an excerpt of its prologue. The excerpt is still available on their website at ew.com.

‘Give a Girl a Knife’ is available both in print and as an ebook. Copies can be found at Zandbroz.

IF YOU GO

‘Give a Girl a Knife’ launch party

Thursday, May 25, 6:30pm

Zandbroz Variety, 420 Broadway N, Fargo

701-239-4729

Recently in:

News

A Battle Lost, A War Not Won

by HPR Contributor

by Jacques Harvieuxjacquesthejock@gmail.comAt first, optimism filled the air on Election Day at the Fargo Billiards and Gastropub. Earlier, Cole Haymond, the political strategist and campaign adviser for Legalize ND, expressed his…

Your operating system to be exact. That is Microsoft’s job. It is a tough job but Bill Gates signed them up for it many years ago. But Microsoft only supports each version of Windows for so long. For example, Windows 7 is…

November 8 – 11, Times VaryOak Grove Lutheran School, 124 North Terrace N., FargoSing along to your favorite Willy Wonka tunes at this delicious musical! Follow Charlie Bucket as he visits Mr. Wonka’s mysterious chocolate…

On Monday Dan Larson, a film student from Montana State University in Bozeman, swung by the office for an interview. This time I was on the other side of the questioning. Larson is currently working on a documentary about the…

Do Muslims and Christians have to wear gloves to play football?Gene and Matthew were both young teenagers when they realized they were gay. They finally met in the hallowed halls of Washington’s National Cathedral where leading…

FARGO - A collection of memories from High Plains Reader's annual Cocktail Showdown. Participants were judged on creativity, flavor, and presentation; and this year we added a new category. Like years before, each establishment was…

by Nataly Routledgenatalyroutledge@googlemail.comFARGO--I’ve been fortunate enough to grow up in Fargo during a time of growth and cultural development. One thing I’ve been holding out for while watching Fargo boom is…

When asked if Aaron “Heatbox” Heaton was ever formally trained to play an instrument he admitted to playing the tuba for seven years. Though during his senior year in high school he found his calling and it wasn’t the tuba.…

Cinema

Oh hi Mark…

by James Osborne

If you Google something, anything, about halfway down the page you’ll find the “People Also Ask” section. The results of this section are, not surprisingly, determined by the most commonly asked questions which leads users to…

by: Melissa Gonzalezmelissam.gonzalez@outlook.comFrom music, to sculpture, to grand scale murals, one local artist is working tirelessly to share his work with the community.The West Acres Mall is currently hosting its fifth…

by Stella Mehlhoffstellamehlhoff@gmail.com“Our mission is to invigorate civic conversation through intimate and transformative storytelling.” This statement posted on Theatre B’s website and tacked to their studio wall in…

Those who have been reading my articles for a while may remember when I interviewed Zachary Tooker about the Level Two Comedy Club at the Radisson in Fargo. While the club may have unfortunately closed, Tooker has not ceased…

Beer Snob

Warm up with a hot toddy

by HPR Contributor

by Ben Myhrebenmyhre35@gmail.com Fall is once again upon us. The leaves are turning, gardens have been pulled, and Summer’s heat has waned into Autumnal frosts. Along with the change of seasons comes a change of seasonal flavors.…

I’m a big man, I’m tall and powerful, but this also causes some issues in the body department. I suffer from acute scoliosis in my lower back, and pain radiates from this area on a daily basis. I have only ever had one massage…

By Melissa Martinmelissamartincounselor@live.comThink back to one of your worst small decisions. Then answer the following questions:How did you make the decision?What happened after the decision?When did you know it was the worst…

Okay, against my better judgment, again, I'm going to weigh in on the 2018 election, just a week hence. Here goes.I told Democratic-NPL Congressional candidate Mac Schneider last week that if Heidi Heitkamp wins re-election to the…