PsyChick 65-26-11


By Micara Link
Contributing Writer

“From the great spiraling galaxies, thousands of light years across, to the trillions of atoms swirling in a grain of sand, the universe is composed of spinning wheels of energy. Flowers, tree trunks, planets, and people – each is made of tiny wheels turning inside, riding upon the great wheel of the Earth, spinning in its orbit through space. A fundamental building block of nature, the wheel is the circle of life flowing through all aspects of existence.” – Anodea Judith, Ph.D

This article is meant to be an overview of the chakra system. A simple introduction to the miraculous, spinning worlds within yourself so that you have a better understanding of the energetic functions and connections of your body, mind, and spirit.  Here are some of the most common and frequently asked questions:

What are Chakras?  Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or “disk,” they are literally vortexes of energy that spin in a wheel-like manner within our energetic system.  We have many chakras, but there are seven main or “master” chakras that are aligned along the spine—starting at the base of the spine running up to the top of the head.  Each chakra is connected to specific areas of the body, mind, and spirit. Each chakra has a specific vibrating color, tone, location, and function.  These swirling, vortexes of energy are made up of life force energy, which together form a formula for wholeness that integrates the physical and nonphysical.  The study of chakras is an in-depth experience, one I encourage you to explore on your own through books, energy work, and meditation.

Does everyone have chakras?  Yes, every single person, even animals and plants, have chakras.  You don’t have to believe in them in order for them to exist.  They are alive and spinning within each of us, whether you are aware of them or not.

What do Chakras do?  Each chakra corresponds with specific physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects.  On a physical level, each chakra is connected to specific glands, the nervous system, endocrine system, and even your body structure.  For example, someone who experiences frequent stomach aches may have issues related to their solar plexus chakra located in the center of their spine.  The solar plexus is related to self-confidence and power, it could be that someone who has a “nervous stomach” feels insecure and powerless, therefore restricting balanced energy flow within the solar plexus which leads to stomach aches.  There are many reasons as to why someone might be experiencing physical symptoms, but more often than not, balancing energy flow within the chakras and removing energetic blockages assists in the healing of the ailments. Fear, pain, resentments, unresolved emotions, and limiting beliefs all restrict energy flow within the chakras.  The chakra then needs healing by uncovering and removing whatever is blocking it. If a chakra is blocked, then it is unable to generate or receive energy.  Working with the chakras helps us to heal ourselves from old restrictive patterns and behaviors so we can operate at higher levels of consciousness in a balanced, healthy manner.

Each chakra holds its own vibration and consciousness and as you experience the opening and expansion of each chakra, you also experience a deeper understanding of the state of consciousness associated with that level.  Chakras send and receive energy in a very fluid-like manner, spinning like a wheel connected to all aspects of creation at all times.  The content of each chakra is dependent upon repeated actions from your daily life.  Patterns and repeated thoughts, behaviors, and emotions create the energetic field around us.  Programming from our parents, culture, this life and past, all are influential factors in the condition of our chakras.

What are the seven main chakras and their functions?

Chakra One: Located at the base of the spine is associated with survival. The color is red, the element is earth, and the body parts associated with it are the adrenal glands, legs, feet, bones, and large intestine.  The base chakra, when balanced, helps you to feel safe, grounded, and connected with the physical world and your physical self.

Chakra Two: Located in the lower abdomen just beneath your bellybutton, is associated with emotions and sexuality. Its element is water and the color is orange. The body parts associated with this chakra are the gonads, womb, genitals, kidneys, lower back and bladder.  A balanced second chakra allows you to enjoy the sweetness of life free from guilt.  Emotional freedom, creativity, and relationships are also connected to this chakra.

Chakra Three: Located in the solar plexus in the center of your body, is associated with personal power, will, and self-esteem. It’s element is fire, the color is yellow, and the body parts associated with it are the pancreas, adrenals, digestive system, liver, and gall bladder.  A balanced third chakra assists you in feeling confident, powerful, and strong, free from shame and self-criticism.

Chakra Four: Located in the center of your chest over your sternum, is associated with love.  It’s element is air and color is green.  The body parts associated with this chakra are the thymus, lungs, heart, circulatory system, arms, and hands.  Self-acceptance, peace, love, and acceptance of others create a balanced fourth chakra.

Chakra Five: Located in the throat, is associated with communication and expression. It’s element is sound and color is blue.  The body parts associated with this chakra are the thyroid, throat, ears, mouth, shoulders, and neck.  Clearly and effectively communicating and expressing your truth keeps your fifth chakra balanced and flowing.

Chakra Six: Located in the center of your forehead, is associated with clairvoyance, intuition, and imagination. It’s element is light and color is indigo.  The body parts associated with this chakra are the eyes, base of skull, and pineal gland.  When your sixth chakra is balanced your intuition will be strong and clear and you are able to see the world around you from a higher, broader perspective.

Chakra Seven: Located at the top of the head, is associated with knowledge, understanding and transcendent consciousness. It’s element is thought and the color is white or gold.  The body parts associated with this chakra are the pituitary gland, central nervous system, and cerebral cortex.  A balanced seventh chakra allows you to experience higher states of awareness, bliss, universal knowledge, and a strong spiritual connection.

Exploring your chakras can be an insightful, healing, and transformative process.  If you are guided to learn more about chakras, energy work, and your energy body, I recommend reading Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith, and Energy Medicine by Donna Eden.

Questions and comments: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)



Posted 3 years, 3 months ago by Micara Link | Email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | View Micara Link's profile.

Members only features
Members can email articles, add articles as favorites, add tags to articles and more. Register now to unlock additional features.

Fargo Weather

  • Temp: 59°F